Living The Dream

As I was walking across campus to my International Law lecture this afternoon (I have to throw that in there so my parents know I’m actually attending class), I saw this girl laying in a hammock. Reading a book. In the center of campus. At noon. On a Thursday. Yeah sure, you could say I have a few free hours in my schedule here and there throughout the week (usually spent eating or sleeping–how basic of me), but seriously: what college student not only has time to lay in a hammock and read a book (fictional, I might add), but who actually knows how to safely assemble a hammock?! It even had a water bottle holder. I know, right?

Often times I try to imagine my life without college athletics, and although it would consist of ample amounts of free time (probably enough time to research how to construct a hammock–multiple times), I don’t know that I’d be happy. I think free time is kind of like money in a way; even if you have a lot of it, it still doesn’t make you happy unless you’re spending it with the right people. I wouldn’t trade my crazy, jam-packed, and sometimes unbearably scheduled life for anything–and I do mean anything. Except for the occasional nap, I think. They are so clutch in college. It’s not everyone’s ideal life, but to me? I’m living the dream. When else in my life am I going to be living with three of my best friends, with no parents (aka no rules), and someone funding my numerous adventures (credits to Neil and Julie for that one…literally; I have their Visas )? I’m pretty sure the answer to that is: never.

People always say that “college is the best time of your life.” And as I start to open my eyes and realize just how much of an experience this is (even if it’s not a cliché one filled with late night Chanos and hangovers), I begin to become more and more thankful for the people and the opportunities that surround me. Everyday, I have a choice: I can either complain about my insane and seemingly impossible life, or I can suck it up and figure it out. Perspective is everything, and if you turn your head a little bit to the right, slightly forward and sideways about 9 degrees, you’ll start to realize that you’re probably living the dream, too; your dream. It just depends on which way you look at it 😉

-Megan

2 comments on “Living The Dream

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    Great post! Reminds me how old I am…what the heck is a Chano?!? 🙂 PS I want a hammock.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meli says:

    Chano’s is THE greatest late-night burrito place in LA! And I want one, too… Maybe I’ll put it on my Christmas list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

