I can’t or I don’t want to?

We all face challenges and obstacles in our lives where we stop and literally think to ourselves: HA-HA God; good joke. There’s no way I can actually do this. But as of late–as I push myself to be stronger and more mentally tough than I ever have been or needed to be–I’ve started wondering: how much of the battle is physical incapability and how much is lack of desire?

Everyday I am challenging myself to do better, work harder, and give more of myself even when there’s nothing left to give (Exhibit A: today). The most difficult part–I’ve found–is figuring out if I physically can’t do something or if I just don’t want to. Often times it’s the latter, which, in all honesty, totally sucks. But pushing past the days of “I don’t want to” is going to allow me to break through those physical barriers that “I can’t” surpass. It all comes with practice and commitment–two things that I am (thankfully) not the least bit afraid of.

If you’ve ever sat on an erg, you know that it ain’t pretty: from improving your form to trying to have fun, it’s hard to really master the erg and execute any intention you may have (especially the fun part). But being a collegiate athlete (and a rower nonetheless), killin’ it on the erg is a absolute must. It’s both a virtue and a vice to sit down on that machine and anxiously (Stephanie-style) await the three letter word that will ruin the next 20 minutes of your life: ROW. And as I sat and awaited those words today (I swear it was hours), I thought to myself: Megan, you can’t or you don’t want to? And then I remembered something that I say to myself before every race:

Serenity Prayer

The Serenity Prayer

It’s not just with physical activity and exertion, it’s with everything in life. There’s always going to be things that we simply cannot do, and there are going to be things that we simply just don’t want to do. But it’s our job to differentiate between the two and work through the “I don’t want to” moments. If you can push through those, you’ll redefine what you “can” do and what you’re capable of; and the cycle starts all over again–finding limits just to break through and redefine them. That’s the best part about life: we’re always working towards something, because there’s always an impossible to strive for.

#foodforthought

-Megan

First Erg Test

Leave a Reply

