Miss You, Mommy

Mama and PapaSometimes you just need a hug from your mama. I don’t care how old you are, where you’re from, the number of figures in your bank account or how amazing your life may be (not to discount your happiness). But everyone–at some point–needs to be enveloped in the abyss of his or her mom’s arms while sobbing quietly (or loudly–no judgement here). This week has definitely been one of those weeks for me; I’m dying for just a little TLC from Julie (like the rhyme?), and I’m pretty sure that nothing will compare to the real deal. Life just gets hard, ya know? And I’m not complaining; it’s supposed to be hard. If it was easy there wouldn’t be things like: work, college, turning the other cheek, and not to mention carb-free diets (yeah, ladies, I know). And the harder life is, the easier it is to appreciate the small things–the everyday blessings that we constantly overlook. And there are a ton.

I go to an incredible university and have the most insane and unconditionally accepting friends. If every day was the same, who knows that I’d fully appreciate the 5 minutes of laugher that we share in the morning or the late night movies we watch. I love my life, don’t get me wrong, but you know what would make it a whole lot better? My mom being just a stone’s throw away so that I could share my life with her in full(er) detail and get some greatly missed hugs and loves (and root beer cookies). Miss you, mommy (and daddy). You’re both incredible parents. I mean, they Snapchat… what more could I ask for? 🙂

See you soon, but not soon enough.

Love,

Your Doodlebug

Leave a Reply

