Wishing or Working

I woke up to the greatest email that any college student could ever receive at 5am. There wasn’t any content to the message, but just an amazing two word title in the subject line: Class Cancelled. Now, I’m supposed to say that I was disappointed when I read this because not only does that single class probably cost my parents about $300 (a little steep), but it’s clearly a missed opportunity for learning–not to mention having to find something to fill that two hour time slot in my day. Well, if I was a perfect student, then yes, that would be my train of thought. But obviously I’m not perfect (shocking, I know; go ahead and pick your jaw up off the floor), and my actual reaction was something more like: Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhh! No class? No problem!

Over the last 2 years 4 weeks and 3 days that I’ve been in college (yes, I’ve been counting–everyday is a small, yet mighty victory), I’ve realized that being successful in college (while simultaneously trying to maintain your sanity), isn’t giving yourself to your studies, or spending all of your time thinking about your major(s) and classes and trying to get ahead. College is about putting in the least amount of effort and receiving the most amount of credit for it.

And it’s sad, really. People work harder finding ways to avoid the work, than they would if they just did the work the way that they were asked; we spend more time finding ways to procrastinate than it would take us to just sit our booties down to write that darn paper; and we think more about what excuses we can make as to why our work isn’t done rather than just taking the time to actually get it done. But it’s not just a USC thing or a college kid thing. It’s an everyone thing–in every part of life. And my question to that is: why?

Well the easy answer is that we’re lazy (and yes, I said we–we’re all guilty). It’s less stressful (not to mention more fun) to just lay in bed eating a bowl of cereal while watching motivational speeches on YouTube (I may or may not have done that last night), but that won’t get us anywhere. We all want to achieve great things and–in our own way–be influential and ground-shaking people, but that won’t happen if we don’t put the appropriate effort in. You can’t wish for it more than you work for it, and no matter how great or small your dreams may be, they’ll never be accomplished if you’re merely riding on hope. Hope is strong, but you’re stronger.


wishing_or_working


So, work hard, put the effort in, and earn the praise and recognition that you get for great work; it feels so much better to be credited for work that you’ve completely given yourself to (so I hear). And yes, Facebook, Insta and Yik Yak (and obviously my blog) will still be here when all of your hard work is done. And if they’re not, there’s probably something better to fill their place. Or the world has ended. Either one.

I guess I should probably start paying attention to the lecture that’s been going on in the class that wasn’t cancelled today… What was that about work ethic? Hey, I don’t follow the rules, I just make them 😉

Keep doing you.

-Megan

Pictured: Lauren Linney
Photo Credit: Brecon Welton
Leave a Reply

