Al Pal Is My Gal

You know those moments (or days) where you’re just pissed? Like no matter what anyone does or says (not to mention how they look at you), it inevitably puts you in a bad mood? Yeah well today was one of those days, and I embarrassingly have to say: I exploded. Not just screaming, yelling into my pillow while looking like a three-year-old type of explosion; crying, hugging my stuffed animals, talking about my (many) feelings type of explosion. I know, I know. But I’m an emotional girl. Give me a breakkkk. (Please?)

And I don’t know if I’m the Crank Monster because I’m insanely tired, overly stressed (thank you midterm season), constantly hungry (being a girl sucks at least 1/4 of the time), or a huge, fat, gigantic and unfortunate combination of all three. But regardless of the cause, the effect today wasn’t so great; to the (large) number of people that I either A. put into a bad mood or B. ruined your day: I sincerely apologize.

If you know me well, you know that I’m outgoing and extraverted, and that I always have an opinion; and if you don’t know me well, you probably still know that I’m outgoing and extraverted, and that I pretty much never shut up. I have no problem talking about my feelings or having a heart to heart. But as I was spilling my soul into the abyss of my apartment today, I realized that opening up about your life isn’t that easy for everyone. We all handle our struggles differently; not everyone feels comfortable letting their feelings air out like laundry on a clothes line (clean or dirty).

One of the reasons that Alyssa and I are such perfect friends is that we’re so different. She’s a strong mind when I’m down, and I’m a good laugh when she’s stressed out. (Fun fact: I’m actually always a good laugh; she just hasn’t realized it yet.) But because we’re different, we’re able to give to each other what the other person needs, when they need it most. I’m a talker, she’s a listener. I’m quick on judgement, she’s thorough and analytical. I’m a carnivore, she’s an herbivore. I’m (constantly) emotional, she’s as cool as a cucumber. I’m a vanilla girl (he’s transformed me), and she’s a double chocolate, cookie dough, fudge, Oreo, truffle, sundae kinda gal. We’re different, and that’s what makes us so unique and functional. I would rather fight with her than live with anyone else–no question. I am so blessed to have her in my life, and I don’t know what I’d do without her (except pay twice as much rent and have no transportation).

Strong Together

Aly, I am so proud of you for all that you’ve accomplished over your four years at SC, and I can’t wait to see where you’ll be in the future. You can always come to me with your struggles, frustrations, and your triumphs. I’m here for you–my family is here for you–and I love you too, too much for words. The sun is shining, the air is clean (just ignore the smog), there’s water coming out of our faucets (even amidst the drought), we have food in our fridge (thank you Little Galen), and we’re here together, living the dream. I have all I need, and I couldn’t ask for anything more (besides a Yogurtland date with you; tomorrow?). Love you, Al Pal.

Keep doing you, baby girl.

-Megan

Leave a Reply

