Shoe and Bag Matching Not Required (or Encouraged)

Pretty much everything I know about fashion I either learned from Stacy and Clinton (who doesn’t love a little TLC?) or have yet learn. Considering I spend most of my life in spandex, there isn’t really much time for ‘real people’ clothes; but you can bet that when I do happen to throw on the occasional pair of jeans or that comfy oversized sweater I have hanging in my wardrobe (the one that lacks an actual wardrobe), people flood me with questions like: where are you going, oooooo who are you seeing today, and oh my gosh Megan, why are you looking so fancy?! They’re jeans people! Calm yourself. I decided that I had 5 extra seconds (or minutes depending on how tight they are) to slip (or shimmy) into some denim today. Not solving world peace here, although it does seem almost as miraculous.

Side note: It doesn’t help that I spent the majority of my youth in a plaid jumper and a white, three button polo, escaping any and all chances of learning absolutely anything about fashion.

And as I was biking to class today, I realized:

  1. I wear the same clothes all the time. Which means I’m either ultra lazy, super boring or just really great at picking out the clutch items (I’ll go with the last one).
  2. About 9 out of 10 of my outfits have colors and patterns that are in complete opposition to and in refusal of one another.
  3. I really don’t care that my clothes repeat/ don’t match.
  4. Neither should you.

normal

I (like most people) live with a constant worry of what others are thinking and if (God forbid) they’re judging me. And come to think of it, everything that we do or don’t do in this world has some sort of social side effect. I mean really: what is normal? Who even came up with the word ‘normal,’ and what on earth does it mean? Normal. Normal normal normal normal normal. (If you say it enough, it doesn’t sounds so normal anymore, does it?) It’s such an abstract concept to wrap your mind around.

Why should I care if my clothes match or if someone notices I’m wearing the same shirt from last class? (Don’t worry, it’s probably *hopefully* clean.) Our world needs a little less focus on judging one another and a little more focus on loving and understanding them. I don’t know about you, but it’s pretty phenomenal that we all (somehow) coexist. One of my friends said something really insightful today: human beings are decent enough not to kill each other, but too selfish to compromise and get along. As humanity, we need to strive to not just coexist, but to weave our lives together–give each other purpose –and be less judgmental of one another. I’ll be the first to say that I, too, am guilty of this, but you know what? Tomorrow I’ll do my best to give everyone a second chance and to make decisions about people based on their character, not their couture. No matter who you are or what life you come from, I promise we’ll find at least one thing that we have in common: we’re human. Even the Bruins.

Every step is a positive movement. It may be small, but it’s something.

Oh and don’t match your Jimmy Choos to your handbag–really. I promise, no one actually cares.

Spread the love.

-Megan

2 comments on “Shoe and Bag Matching Not Required (or Encouraged)

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    For the record, I totally judge you. As in, I think you’re adorable. And also, I only have one purse, so I just have to *hope* it matches my outfit. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meli says:

    One purse or a million, you’re ALWAYS lookin’ fine! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

