Take Care (of you and your hair)

My hair is falling out. In large quantities. And often. I don’t know if this alarms you as much as it does me (if it does, you need a more exciting life), but I’m freaking out. Fun fact (more like annoying fact): our hair falls out in response to you being under stress six months prior. So what in my life was so straining this past April/May? Finals and PAC 12s. Basically the most stressful times in both my academic and athletic careers.

There is (literally) nothing more annoying than being tickled by your own hair. You have no idea where it is, you know it’s there, and you grab at your skin aimlessly in hopes of getting it off of you (which you usually fail at)—all of which results in you looking like an absolute idiot because no one has any idea what you’re doing. Yeah, well that’s been my life for the last week or so, and it’s driving me nuts. Maybe I’ll just shave my head… because that’s obviously a logical solution.

So what am I going to do about this fatal (and I mean fatal) situation? Well, seeing as I don’t have a time machine to go back six months and tell myself to cool it, absolutely nothing. But it makes me ponder (how academic of me): when we’re extremely stressed and under a lot of pressure, I don’t think we realize the toll it’s taking on our bodies. Sure we’re tired and need that extra shot of espresso (or two, or three…), but it’s not until later on that we really notice the damage that we’re doing to ourselves (aka why I have no hair). It’s so important that we take care of our bodies and our minds; everything we do today affects who we’ll be tomorrow. Everythinggggg. Daunting? Well, sort of. But you need to take care of yourself today so that you’ll have a tomorrow.


october30,1


Obviously my hair will grow back. That isn’t my main life concern at this exact moment in time (although it is up there); that role is currently being filled by my immense hunger as I sit in my Urban Planning class watching West Side Story (I’m sorry, what is life?? Odd, I know). But my larger concern is this: there have to be so many effects of my current life that I won’t see until much, much later—both good and bad. It’ll take years for me to appreciate the effort I’ve put into a (mostly) healthy and (sometimes) balanced lifestyle; it won’t be until I get my first job/ promotion that I’ll come to understand the importance of higher education; and I won’t know how crucial it is to build relationships with people until those relationships are my lifelines.

But it’s also not until we’re ignored that we regret mistreating others; it’s not until we aren’t trusted that we wish we hadn’t broken promises and told untruths; it’s only when the negative results of our actions are evident that we truly wish to change. It’s usually far too little and far too late, as my mom would say. It’s so imperative to our happiness (both current and future) that we live our lives with the utmost honesty and purity. And, no, I don’t mean purity as an attempt to allude to any belief system (I can feel the awkward onset of this post, just bear with me); I mean purity in a sense that we all should be striving to lead clean, wholesome lives that are true to ourselves. That’s all I’m saying. What you purely or unpurely decide to do in your free time? You do you.

You’re your own best caretaker; no one will take care of you as well as you do. And ladies, if he does, hold on tight and never let him go. (That’s what we call a keeper!) You owe it to yourself to make every attempt to live a good life. You deserve it.

Keep doing you.

-Megan

3 comments on “Take Care (of you and your hair)

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    Happy Halloween to you too. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meli says:

    Loved your Halloween posts! 🙂

    Like

  3. […] something that we don’t think too much about. It’s there everyday (unless you’re losing it, sorry Ry), and we don’t put much thought into its presence (besides the occasional up-do). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

