Thoughts and Thoughts of Thinking

I’m sitting at my kitchen table at 10:15pm, and although it feels like 2am with this time change (the rare occasion that I wish I lived in Arizona, and yet one more reason we should all move to Hawaii), I can’t get myself to go to sleep. I’ve been up since 5:30am, and–two practices, five hours of class and a stats midterm later–all I want to do is write. If that’s not a reason to completely reroute my life, then clearly I’m staking it out for the second coming.

As I was struggling through acing *positive thinking* my statistics midterm tonight (if there are more than two, are they really midterms?), I thought to myself: I’m never going to use this, so why am I so stressed about doing it perfectly?

november3I don’t have to be flawless at statistics or completely understand the process of urban development and city sprawls to be successful; just the mere fact that my brain (although uninterested) has the capability of processing such complex material is truly fascinating. Just think for a second about your mind’s ability to think–to create a thought pattern and to run it through your consciousness while you hear a voice in your head vocalizing that thought (at least I think you hear a voice… I hear a voice… is that normal?!). You can process and create a conscious understanding of thinking well enough that you can think about your own ability to think? Inception at its finest. Now where’s Leonardo DiCaprio…? Mmmm.

The next time you’re sitting at your computer dreading that 10 page paper you have to write or you’re painfully watching those molecular biology lectures to cram for the big exam, just think how much of a miracle your brain is and how blessed you are to have endless ability and bountiful creativity up there. That huge phenomenon is just chillin’ between your ears. Apparently they have more uses than just being a little extra wind resistance on your morning jog. Or maybe that’s just me…

As frustrated as I get with myself for not remembering dates and details (and birthdays…. sorry to everyone for that one), I truly am thankful for everything that my brain does and is capable of doing. It’s pretty darn cool, and I’m pretty darn proud of it. I mean it’s not like I invented the idea of the brain, but at least I grew mine myself! I have to get some credit for that, right?

Keep doing you because you (and your brain) are pretty insane.

-Megan

6 comments on “Thoughts and Thoughts of Thinking

  1. magnocrat says:

    My guess is your doing too much all round and that creates tension. Your reply will be but I have to do them. To which there is no answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shauna841505 says:

    You think a lot more than most people….maybe you should give your brain a rest. You’ll probably still get straight A’s. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shauna841505 says:

    Megan!!!!!!!! I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award.

    The Rules for accepting the Award:

    Thank and link back to the awesome person who nominated you.
    List the rules of the award (which I forgot to do – so I’m doing it here)
    Share 7 things about yourself.
    Nominate other bloggers and comment on their blogs to let them know.

    Read mine here:
    http://raeofsparkles.com/2014/11/05/one-lovely-blog/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

