This New Years post is so late it’s Old…

Where do I even begin? I’ve been meaning to write for, hmmmm, I don’t know, since the very second I published my last post, but I haven’t been able to find the time or the energy! Excuses, excuses. I know, I’m sorry. New Years crept up on me (as did this extra 10 lbs I’ve been hauling around since Christmas), and before I knew it, I was sitting on a Southwest plane, awaiting my arrival into LAX to start winter training camp. And here I find myself now, a proud (yet unlikely) survivor of 11 hellish (yet grossly enjoyable) practices, and I am exhausted.


january11

In typical Megan-fashion (late, that is): HAPPY NEW YEAR!! I hope you’ve decided to be an even better you than you were in 2014, and I hope you’ve made some challenging (but attainable) resolutions for this year. I’ve tried to make a short list of personal goals for my life in 2015. And here it is:

  1. If I need a good cry, cry. No one’s judging me. And if they are, well then I’m judging them for judging me. #gettingeven
  2. Limit all that “unreal” food that I eat. I’m pretty sure it’s all just chemicals. If my food grows, breathes or has less than 5 ingredients (not to mention, can be pronounced), it’s probably a better source of nutrients. Not to discount the occasional McDonald’s fries and a soft serve (best combination… trust me), but it shouldn’t be my midnight snack… every night…. (or even every Thursday). Read: exception to this is Splenda. The world (my world) does not exist without it. Maybe I’ll try and ditch that one come Lent. My insides can only hope..
  3. Be more flexible. And no, not like that. (Get your head out of the gutter!) I mean with my schedule. Plans change, people cancel, life happens. I know it’s easier to have plans and to be certain, but let’s be real: it never works out the way it’s planned. Murphy’s law. So I’m going to get limber, stop using Sharpie’s and make sure to constantly carry Wite-Out to make corrections to my life plans. Harder than it seems but, nonetheless, worth an attempt.
  4. And lastly: smile more, smile often.

I know it’s late for a New Years post (11 days to be exact), but that’s just it: it’s never too late to be a better you, and it’s never too late to start over. The most incredible detail of your life is that it’s your life. You decide what changes you make and when, and you decide when it’s your moment. So make it happen; why not make it right now? Make this your moment. You’re ready, you just have to own it, work it, be it.

Keep doing you, and I wish you nothing but health and happiness in 2015! Now go make this year your ‘you know what’ (trying my best to keep it PG and PC).

-Megan

2 comments on “This New Years post is so late it’s Old…

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    Happy New Year! Welcome back to the real world…or the blogging world. Wonder which one is better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meli says:

    Definitely the blogging world!

    Like

Leave a Reply

