Be Your Own Standard

I woke up this morning and didn’t feel beautiful. I didn’t feel pretty (or anything close), I didn’t feel thin (maybe it was the midnight mac and cheese?), and I sure as hell didn’t feel good enough.

I stood in the mirror, gave myself a thorough up-down (the kind with judgement) and thought: Ughhh.

And let me tell you, this (sadly) wasn’t the first time.

I don’t know who brainwashed me or how I’ve come to this conclusion (ahemm: societal pressures and expectations) but somehow I define my beauty by the appearance of my exterior. Despite all of my unique and amazing qualities, it’s too easy for me to look in the mirror and to discount the entirety of my worth.

And as a girl who is (usually) confident and self-loving, I can only imagine how difficult it is for others to feel valuable.

As someone who exercises over 20 hours a week and still doesn’t have a six-pack, I can only imagine how discouraged others must feel when trying to make a change.

And as someone who wakes up everyday actively pursuing positivity, I can only imagine the discontentment others must have in the absence of organic happiness.

I’m an average girl who (thankfully) has a strong head on her shoulders, thick skin, countless sources of love and every reason to smile. And if I wake up 3/5 days thinking that I fall short of the standard, then I can only assume that so many others feel exactly the same way.

If we all don’t feel good enough, then let’s change the standard to which we measure ourselves; hell, let’s get rid of it all together, and let’s redefine what it means to be beautiful and happy. Because I think the two are interdependent. And not so much that being beautiful makes you happy, but that being happy makes you beautiful. Look in the mirror, take a quick gander, and smile. You’re prettier with an ear-to-ear grin, and I promise you’ll feel better, too.


 april_30

–science yields the best medicine, second to laughter–


Bottom line: You’re not perfect (t-goodness), and neither am I. And the best part? We weren’t built to be. We’re perfectly imperfect, and the sooner we embrace our imperfections, the sooner we’ll see that our value lies in our differences and the diversity that we offer to humanity. Love your body, love yourself and love your life–regardless of how flawed each might (distortedly) seem.

You’re not a Barbie. You aren’t meant to be. You’re you. So, be proud.

Love and hugs to you on your best and worst days. Keep doing you; you’re killin it.

-Megan

4 comments on “Be Your Own Standard

  1. sophia says:

    This post is really impactful. Hopefully I can do a post like this soon!
    Make sure to check out my blog
    5thAvenueUrban.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shauna841505 says:

    Who wants a six pack anyway!? Pshhh. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

