What the Funk?

Your batting average in your rec league has dropped to a whopping .000, no one’s boughten you a drink in weeks (one week, fine, but three weeks in a row?! what’s happening…), and you simply just don’t feel like getting out of bed and hitting that hustle (me this morning… and yesterday). Everything feels weird, and you don’t like it. I get it. Trust me. I’m in a funk. And it’s a huge one.

Like so huge – so huge that I stayed on the couch watching Netflix all day yesterday, ate an entire stack of my aunt’s sugar cookies, and had 2 hotdogs for dinner. I’m sorry, what? I know. That’s what I said when I woke up this morning thinking about yesterday’s festivities. And so, it’s definite: I’m funked up.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Can’t let a little funked-up hair ruin a sunny, LA day

But, now what?

Well, we’ve got a few options. I can tell you to shake it off and to keep pushing until you’re out of it. Or that you should do something drastically positive to pull yourself through this lull. I can also tell you that you’re stronger than your challenges and that you’re always going to persevere and be successful. I mean, you are, but that’s nothing you haven’t heard before, so that’s not really helpful, is it? At least not for me. Because funks are weird, and they make you 99.97 % immune to positivity and optimism. So here’s what I needed to hear this morning, and what has helped me through today.

[Note: today. Day by day, step by step]

You’re strong and disciplined. So, even if it feels like there’s a hiccup right now, trust in yourself that things will work out. Because they will.

And while that’s (currently) working for me, that doesn’t mean it’s a cure-all. So let’s get real with some nitty gritty help:

Time is Your Friend

We don’t usually like time. It goes too fast when we’re on vacation (spring break come sooner) or when we’re having endless amounts of fun (#college); yet it passes too slowly when we’re sitting through a boring, this-is-a-requirement-to-graduate type of class (me currently) or bearing through an awkward moment – the one’s where you’re trying to shove your entire foot (ankle included) into your mouth. Time can also be too long, when you’re missing someone important (hey, you), and then too short when it takes someone important too soon (miss you, too much). But despite our bad times with time (pun intended), it’s not always the enemy. Make peace with time and let it work for you. Your slump will be old news sooner than you can identify why you’re actually in it, but you’ve got to let it happen. Let time pass, and just be nice to it. You’ll (eventually) want it to be nice to you (and your aging skin) – trust me. You mean, I won’t be 21 (and wrinkle-free) forever?

Treat Yo-self

Grab your favorite snack, and let (your pants) loose. Despite the pressure we feel to always be on the grind, it’s ok give yourself a little extra comfort when you’re in a lull. I’m constantly struggling with food and my relationship with it; every day is a battle to see who has more power. But when I’m lagging, nothing says “I love me” like a GUILT FREE bowl of Think ‘n Creamy Mac ‘n Cheese and a box of thin mints. Indigestion and those never-to-be-counted (silly) things called calories? Those are problems for future you, but the enjoyment? That’s a pick-me-up for current you. So indulge every once and a while. You deserve it. Go, go, go! The ice cream’s calling…

Let Yourself Sulk

It’s ok to sink. It’s ok to realize you’ve hit a low and that you’re at a point that makes you uncomfortable. Being in a funk isn’t fun. It’s a weird, uncomfortable place that we often don’t know how to navigate. Which makes it totally scary. And did I mention uncomfortable? Because it’s funking uncomfortable. But sometimes it’s ok to be at (what is seemingly) rock bottom and to just sit – to realize that you’re at a low point, and to just be there, without denial, self-judgement or hate. And to realize that wherever you may be, it’s ok – that you’re ok.

Trust It

Trust is the most important thing in a relationship: true or false? Well I don’t know, considering I’m not in one, BUT, I’m confident in saying that it’s pretty funking important. It’s important not only with your S/O, but also with your funk (definitely significant, but not a S/O). So, let your funk be. Let it marinate and let it manifest (to a point). Trust that just as you’ve succeeded thus far in life, you’ll succeed in crawling out of this funk and reclaiming your life’s normalcy. I have faith. I mean, it’s Lent and all, so now’s the time.

Get Ready to Climb

I’m usually all about turning up. But at 6:12am (12 minutes into spin class), the last thing I want to hear is “give me a turn up” let alone three turns up. But I’m already awake, my shoes are clipped in, and I’ve been sweating for the past 11 and 1/2 minutes. So why the funk not? Being at a low is ok (and so is coasting those first 10 minutes of spin class), but when we’re aware that we’re off-balance, we’ve got to get ready for the uphill. Enjoy your sulk sesh, but know that you’re about to soar. Brace yourself, prepare for what’s to come, and get ready to climb. Because baby, you’re going places.


I know funks are rough, but they serve as unwanted (yet needed) reminders that our lives are full of goodness and love. If it didn’t get tough every once and a while, it’d be harder to appreciate the better moments. Or so I tell myself.

Keep doing you, pushing through, and funking it up.

Cheers to my midterm in an hour (ugh).

-Megan

14 comments on “What the Funk?

  1. Vinny Lanni says:

    Awesome inspiring post. If life was full of high’s an no low’s then it wouldn’t be… well, life. It’s all about moving forward and using fuel from your mistakes and past.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul says:

    You had me at the “2 hotdogs for dinner”. Did that yesterday too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was such an amazing post to read at this time of the night, or shall i say morning. You should go into inspirational speaking. I can definitely say I am the optimist of my friend group, but you definitely beat me with this post. SO inspiring and refreshing. I totally agree with you in that being in funks are a normal thing. We need to be at times because life is not always going to be happy-go-lucky. It is how we deal with the funks and how we look at them that will get us out. Gotta be positive throughout and understand that it is normal and everyone goes through it and you’re not alone and when you realize that, that is when you can enjoy that moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Megan Linney says:

      You got it, girl! Thanks so much for the support. And keep pushing! It’s not always easy, but I guarantee it’s worth it. Embrace the hard times and know you’re on the up and up.

      Inspirational speaking would be a DREAM, working on something leading towards that post grad. Always feel free to stop by/ follow along with blog. Hoping to inspire powerful women like you who have limitless potential. I’ll be changing the interface of the blog a little bit in the coming month, but it’ll still be at [www.meganlinney.com] when that full change finally happens. Thanks for being you and being so damn awesome.

      Xo –
      Megan

      Like

  4. I LOVED this! Its so relevant and true to the world we are living in today and in the past, does not matter who you are or what your circumstances are, if you say you have never experiences a “funk” I would not believe it! I know personally I have, and they are no fun, but coming out on the other end, they give you a more positive perspective on life because it gifts you with gratitude. “Because funks are weird, and they make you 99.97% immune to positivity and optimism”, OMG LOL! It is true, everything could be going right in my life, and I can be so extremely unsatisfied with life. Why is that? I will never understand. Or on the flip side, I will be able to see the positive at the end of my day when nothing seemed to have gone my way. Life just doesn’t make sense sometimes and that’s oaky. When I experience these funks I tell myself, life goes on. Because at the end of the day, if it doesn’t kill you it will only make you stronger, and what may seem like the end of your world now, you will be able to look back at one day and smile, “ahh that made so much sense now”. So its true, time really is your friend. I am the type of person who believes in sulking, just give me 24 hours to feel sorry for myself, I’ll get it out of my system but that’s it! Then I am done and ready to move on. Spending a day in bed, watching movies and feeling sorry for myself is needed, I can think, but once that time is up I refuse to feel sorry for myself any longer. I truthfully think its because I see what a waist of time it is, and how extremely unproductive it is to your life. But sometimes you just gotta go through it to come out on the other side a improved version of yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

